GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Loice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 5,000 KES on medical expenses. I bought 26 iron sheets at 18,400 KES, poles at 2,000 KES and nails at 2,000 KES as part of construction materials for my house. We are still planning on buying other construction materials with the remaining amount.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I live in a very small house which I cook in, my children also spend in it together with the chicken. It is therefore very squeezed. When my house is complete this would be the biggest thing to happen to me as I will move into a big house that can comfortably contain my belongings and the whole family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy a mattress because I didn't have one. I also bought cooking utensils and water containers.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a larger house because my current house is too small. I'm also planning to invest the remaining portion in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to spend the transfer on building a new house because this one is small and we already have children too Planning to spend the transfer on buying cows that I can use during farming and milking for a source of income
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far is my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have been through is I really wanted to get education but because of the financial instability in our family I was not able to
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is mid days when am able to get at least something to feed my children on