GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Prisillar's Profile
Prisillar's family
Catering/hotel (works for others)
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently my life is very different from how it was before. My mum is diabetic and she has frequent hospital visits. This meant that money was involved on every visit. When I received my transfers, the burden of paying the bills was reduced and made easier for me. With the business, I will be abler to settle her bills with much ease thanks to GD's support.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I currently do not have new goals, I am planning to expand my second- hand clothes business. I want to see it grow to another level where it can comfortable provide for my family needs. I am looking forward to increase my stock and expand my clientele.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my transfers, I spent part of it to settle my mother's hospital bills that has been consistent. She is diabetic and frequently visits the hospital. I also paid bought a generator to help help her back at home given that electricity has not yet been connected back at home. The remaining amount was spent on household expenses and school fees for my children.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I am now able to provide basic needs for my family. In the past, I used to do casual jobs such as washing clothes to get money to provide food for my family. The money I got was not enough to buy food and at times my children could sleep hungry. I used part of transfers to to start new business where I sell second hand clothes and I am now able to provide enough food for my family with the income I get from the business. I thank Give Directly for the cash transfers since I no longer do casual jobs and my children do not sleep hungry as they used to do in the past.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to expand my business. Currently, I have a small stock in my business and I get little income to cater for food only. I am planning to use my third transfer to expand my business where I sell second hand clothes. I will therefore be able to get more income from the business hence provide family basic needs and pay school fees for children without any challenge.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spend my most recent transfer to build a brick-walled house for my mother. I decided on this because she was living in a small mud-walled house and could not accommodate all my family members. At times when my siblings come for holiday they could go to sleep with our grandmother since the house could not accommodate all of them comfortably. I also used part of transfer to start a new business where I sell second hand clothes. In the past I used to struggle to meet my family needs with the little money I got from casual jobs such as washing clothes. I am now happy since I used my transfers to start a business and I get a constant source of income to meet family needs and I no longer do casual jobs as I used to do before.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I currently depend on domestic jobs which are very rare to come by and sometimes not available at all. This kind of job has led me into a lot of debts just to provide for my family. To put all these behind me, I am planning to start a cloth selling business at a nearby market with the help of a friend who has promised to guide me. I will use my next transfers to purchase the stock and pay for the required licence.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was always stressed about raising money to clear the debts I owed people. It was tough always hearing what my neighbours said about me behind my back because I was not able to pay back their debts in time that we had agreed.Ever since I received the money which I used to repay the loans,I have been stress free and look a lot happier than before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used some of the money I received to clear some debts I had such as my children's school fee arrears, loans from my table banking group and loans from my neighbours. I also paid my rent which was due for two months, sent some of the money to my mother to purchase medication for her chronic condition then spent the remaining amount on foodstuff.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
On that particular day, I received the money, had no money to buy the daily household requirements such as food because I did not earn much money the previous day from the domestic jobs that I do. I was so excited that immediately after praying to thank God for such a miracle, I left the house to withdraw the money at a nearby M-pesa Agent to buy breakfast and other foodstuff for the whole day.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My mom is diabetic and has kidney failure due to this am uneasy and therefore would want to give a hand just to see her improving,she has been like this for a while now. I would want to invest in a new business of selling 2nd hand clothes(mtumba) after having a discussion with a close friend of mine and we agreed that once we secure finances we will start this business. Due to heavy debts I would also want to clear them at least to set me free, so far I have two children and for a while now have been unable to at least provide enough clothing for them. I would want them to look neat like children who really have parents.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is debts because they make one get ashamed and lack of growth.People you owe will backbite you as if you killed someone,debts also makes one not to grow for you always do subtraction sums and as we all know you can go knowwhere with such kind of life. Personally I have this huge debts and really makes me uneasy and am hoping to clear it very soon. I really hate debts.
What are your greatest ambitions?
Once have stabilized my business and have continuous flow of income, I would want to buy myself a land to secure my family. My husband and I have no definite place we can call home so am trying to make both ends meet for both of us. Once I have this land we'll build a permanent home.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
Currently I have no steady source of income so I do home chores and take care of my family once am done I watch television while listening to music, I sometimes go visit my pals exchange thoughts and ideas on how to run and develop our families. We also prepare meals after discussions and share amongst us to facilitate strong bond between us.