GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the second transfer to pay hospital bill of 12000 kshs, l spent the transfer to fix windows and door, door and windows at 15200 kshs, l also spent it to plaster my house so l bought 10 bags of cement and sand at 11000 kshs, labor 5000 kshs, l paid school fees of 7000 kshs to my daughter in secondary school, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am fine health wise because of GD, l am also staying a nice plastered house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees (5000 kes) settled silk loan (3500 KES) and bought food for the family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to pay fees for my son, buy a cow and cement my house with the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to buy some livestock to keep,I also children who are in high school I will pay there fees. Lastly I will repair my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have taken my children to school and one is almost clearing her high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have is paying school fees and taking care of my children since I have no proper job.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am having a meal with my family.