GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Priskila's Profile
Priskila's family
Priskila
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
62
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Priskila's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer I built a kitchen-semi permanent of 11 iron sheets with 14380 KES, I plastered the walls and floor my main house with sand and cement at a total cost of 19000 KES, I paid 5000 KES college school fees for my daughter, I leased one and half acre piece of maize farm with 5000 KES and I spent the remaining 6345 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to cook in an open air- outside the house where my food could easily be contaminated by germs, which could infect my household members, however, when I built a kitchen in courtesy of GD, I have been cooking quality and cleaner food, which has improved the health of my household members, the biggest difference in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 5 iron sheets at 3,000 KES, I also bought mattress worth 2,000 KES besides that I bought 1 bag of maize at 2,400 KES and gave 1,000 KES to a relative.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a kitchen and buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, lime, timber, round poles, nails, iron roofing sheets and cement. These materials will be used to plaster my house, build an external kitchen and finally build a pit latrine. If there are any funds remaining I plan to buy a goat.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a grocery when I was younger, this business helped me quite a lot because it enabled my family's basic needs to be adequately catered for,but due to old age I had abandon the business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay for medical treatment. I have chest complications and in order to get treatment I have to be able to raise the required money. This is almost impossible as I do not have a sustainable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am having a meal together with my family and friends, we often chat and have fun as we relax, this often helps me forget my problems for a while.