GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum payment, I built a semi-permanent house of 22 iron sheets with 48000 KES and I invested the remaining 2000 KES in cereals business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never had my own house-homeless, where I could plan and execute my own decisions, but when I received transfers from GD, I managed to build mine where I have full authority and autonomy to plan and work on my plans peacefully, the biggest difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying 3 goats.I also bought cement and iron sheets for building my toilet.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building my own iron roofed house.I also want to buy a bed.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new house, buy chicken and cows to rare and to educate our grandchildren who are orphans.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that I bought land way back through savings from some job i used to do.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is that I don't have a house, I live in my late co-wife's house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when i go to farm during morning hours.