<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy cow-bulls at 32000 kshs, l also bought 10 iron-sheets at 6200 kshs, l bought mattress at 3500 kshs, l paid school fees of 4500 kshs for my three children in primary school the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l spent the first 10000 kshs to extend my house so l am staying in a spacious comfortable house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3,200 KES to buy cement to plaster my house and 6,000 KES to buy a steel door for my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy some bulls to help me in ploughing my farm, pay school fees for my two girls in secondary school and also construct a kitchen.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house as it is in a bad state with cracks and dilapidated floors,I will build a kitchen using the cash, I will also pay school fees for my kids who are in primary school and the remaining amount I will spend on buying a cow and some goats.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have managed to buy chairs for my house and also made a steel door using cash that I got from my business of working in a stone quarry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my kids who are in primary school all depend on me for school fees and getting that cash is not easy as my income is not stable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go the stone quarry to harvest the stones which are used in house construction,when a truck comes and pays for the stones then I am happy because I have got cash that I can use to support my family.