GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
47
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($473 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on purchasing a water tank,fixed a steel door for security purposes,build my own toilet for hygiene reasons and to avoid going to the bush when pressed.I also used part of the money to build my son a house as per our traditional and spent the rest of the money to buy a dairy cow which will reproduce faster and can sell the young ones if need be.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes,my new goal is to start a business preferably selling maize because of the ready market in this area and the fact that it can not get spoilt very fast a compared to other food stuff.I believe that I will get more profits that I can comfortably support the family as a widow.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been in that I managed to buy seats,I literally did not have any and could borrow from the neighbors.I also built a toilet and right now I don't have to go to the bush when I am pressed.I am a very happy person because as a widow I had a lot of burden that hindered the plan towards building my son a house as per the tradition but I finally managed to achieve the dream.Thanks to GiveDirectly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 7000 KES the first lumpsum transfer in constructing a latrine, bought a chair at 20000 KES, bought bedding at 5000 KES, used 6000 KES on food and used the rest of the money in buying utensils and clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I now have my own chairs so I do not have to borrow chairs from my neighbors whenever I have visitors.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to pay school fees of 5000 kshs to my daughter in secondary school, l also bought sheep at 3000 kshs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to buy cow-bulls for farming
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture and utensils. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy foodstuff.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked very hard and have been able to construct iron roofed house. I used to stay in a thatched house in the past.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a stable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding.