chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pauline's Profile
Pauline's family
Pauline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pauline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a sofaset at 30,000 KES, one mattress at 4,000 KES, a panga and an axe at 1,000 KES, used 5,000 KES on transportation, i paid depost of 15,000 KES for the M-Kopa lamp.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children are now studying peacefully and I no longer buy paraffin because I have a solar lamp that helps me even to charge my phone.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of the token payment on secondary school fees for son.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will clear the school fees balance for my children and if some amount will remain from that my upcoming lumpsum payment then I will buy a cupboard.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my son in high school. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture and mattress.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have managed to buy bulls and oxen plough which has enabled us to plough our farms in good time.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is that we don't have a stable source of income that can help us support the family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My proudest achievement is in the morning when am watering my seedling in the seedbed. I usually grow vegetables for income and I am pàsionate about it.