GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
35
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
When i got the money ,the first thing i did is to pay 15000 KES for my daughter,bought a solar lamp at 10000 KES,I bought bedding at 7000 KES. I also bought clothes for my children and food too. I have kept 7000 KES to start a food business.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I want to start a food business that will help me sustain my family.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference i have is that i have cleared fees for my daughter,i also have a nice bigger house and lastly i am able to start my own business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the second transfer to pay school fees of 10000 kshs to my child in secondary, also spent the transfer to plaster my house so l bought materials at 28000 kshs, labor-charge 5000 kshs, l bought bedding at 3000 kshs, l also bought 2 sacks of maize at 5200 kshs the remaining balance l still have it with me.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really changed because l am eating well and staying in a very comfortable house .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees 4000 KES, 2000 KES used on weeding , 1 sack of maize 2400 KES and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning on cementing my house and install steel doors.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I would like to renovate my house because it's old and worn out.I would also like to start a business of selling second-hand clothes and lastly I would like to spend the remaining portion on school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest of taking care of my children and sending them to school despite the fact that I am widow who depends only on casual jobs as way of survival.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is how to raise school fees for my daughter who is in form two.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest when cultivating my farm in the morning because farming is my main source of livelihood and I'm sure of getting a good harvest in future.