chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Amos's Profile
Amos's family
Amos
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
19
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Amos's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was four months ago in that I have been able to easily access my personal basic needs. I am so proud of my self I am self-independent unlike before when I had to rely on my parents. It had been hard depending on farming since it takes time to mature and also due to low returns, it had never been enough to meet my basic and other financial needs. I am currently so happy I have managed to cater twenty pieces of iron sheets meaning that I am soon building my own house. I am also so happy I have managed to buy two sheep. This my happiness since I had nothing before to call an asset. I am so happy to see them grow and it is my assurance and hope of a better life in the future.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
In the next four months, I have a new goal of building my own house. I also wish to fully furnish it and this will be my happiness I won't be disturbed like now where I have to fully adhere to changing rules of my grandmother whom she gave me a house to live in.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
In the last four months, I have been so happy because of the build materials I have been buying monthly using Givedirectly money. I have been able to cater twenty pieces of iron sheets which I see it as my biggest happiness since it has always been my big dream to build my own house but due to lack of enough resource, I had not been able to. I primarily rely on farming for an income but due to a small piece of land I have and climatical effects I had not gotten much returns to allow me to build my own house. I am happy I see my dream come true through GD.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to be living comfortably in my own house. I expect to have gotten married and will be living happily with my wife. I also expect my two sheep to be about to calf hence will be of a higher value and this will always be my happiness in life.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly is that I used to live in my grandmother's house which had been abandoned and it was almost falling down. During the night I couldn't sleep well because it was very cold. My parent could not afford to build a house for me because they were struggling to raise money to pay school fees for my other siblings in college and secondary school. I have bought twelve iron sheet and I'm planning on building a better house where I would sleep well and even settle down well without having to move to a grandmother's place.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I expect my life to change in the next six month in that I will have started a business of buying and selling goats, I will use the profit to buy a dairy cow and this will enable me and my family to cut the cost of buying milk.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I never received the transfer is that now I have good clothes and shoes to were before I use to walk bare food because I could not afford to buy one.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The new goals that I have now are; to build my own house which was not possible before because of lack of income and also to start a business to earn an income to meet additional needs.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Building my own house has the biggest hardship I have faced in life. The output from the small land is not enough to sustain my own needs and the needs of the family. The little we get from the land is used to educate my siblings and I end up being left with nothing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening since it is the only time I have with my family discussing how their day was. I feel good seeing them happy and healthy.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on leasing another land and plant crops such as beans, onions and maize since they do well in our region.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The greatest achievement that i am proudest of is the fact that I have managed to increase the size of land under cultivation. There has been a section of our land which has been lying idle and I saw the need to plant more crops such as maize, beans and onion in order to sustain our family. My hardwork in the farm has paid since I have managed to increase the output and my family is happy.