GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kennedy's Profile
Kennedy's family
Kennedy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kennedy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30000 KES of the first lumpsum in catering for the cost of building iron roof house, bought a cow at 17000 KES, paid school fee of 1000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a small house but now I have a big house and I also own a cow, this is an achievement and thanks to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy eight pieces of iron sheets which I'll use to build a house. Bought plastic chairs at 2,100 KES. I also purchased famill clothes and foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house with a larger portion of the transfer because my current house is in bad condition. I'm also planning to invest the remaining portion in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer to build a bigger house to accommodate my family. I currently live in a much smaller house with little space. I also plan to use the transfer to build a toilet for my family. We currently do open defecation and this affect the
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to buy livestock. I was able to do it after saving money for three years.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is inadequate income to sustain my family. Sometimes it forces us to go without food due to poverty.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I eat together with my children. They make me proud.