GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent part of the third transfer on buying and fixing iron windows into my house, and 20,000KES as capital for a business in selling ready made clothes so that I may have a source of income. I also bought a cow for keeping @ 15,000KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to cement the floor and walls of my house to finish.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I can now sleep in a good house that I have been unable to raise money to build, my children are also attending school regularly without being sent home.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying building materials (40 iron sheets,timber,nails and fisherboard).I still have 15,000 KES which I'll pay fees for my child when she go to school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a house for my kitchen rearing business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees 5500 KES and 11 pieces of iron sheets 7150 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build my own house and clear school fees.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to plaster my house and expand it a little bit.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have taken my children to school on my own.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is taking my children for further education because of lack of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am able to feed my children.