GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
21
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Faith's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 33000 KES of the first lumpsum on building a house, bought bedding at 8000 KES, bought a goat at 3000 KES, used 4700 KES on medication and used the rest of the money on buying food and shoes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I feel independent because I now own my house and households unlike previously that I had nothing and was staying in my co-wife's house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets 4410 KES, school uniforms 2100 KES and the rest for clothes and food for the family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I m planning to build a house and buy a cow with the upcoming lampsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying six iron sheets using the first transfer, the second transfer we will spend it on buying timber that we will used in building our house and furniture that will be put in the house. The final transfer will be spent on buying a cow and a goat so that we can keep them for milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to plant maize and beens during the previous planting season which enabled me to get a good harvest and for this I am proud.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting water is a problem as our source of water is very far and it takes me one hour to get the water and we also pay for it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to do ploughing. This makes me happy as I am able to feed my family with the harvest.