chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Collince's Profile
Collince's family
Collince
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
1
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Collince's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 10,000 KES school fee for my brother in high school fee, bought two lorries of sand at 5,000 KES, five bags of cement at 5,000 KES, gave 10,000 KES to my mother to pay her debts, clothings for my two brothers and I at 8,500 KES, one solar panel at 4,000 KES then used the rest on food for the family and other personal needs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We no longer have debts and we also dress smartly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 2,500 KES to purchase family foodsuffs. Paid 6,000 KES fee to my brother in high schoo. I also purchased my clothes with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use a larger portion of the transfer to pay my university fee. I'm also planning to repair the floor of my house because it is in bad shape.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for a college course I will undertake this year, pay school fees for my siblings who are in secondary schools and if there are any funds remaining build a small house for myself.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having focused and managed to complete my secondary school education even though my own mother had passed away in the year 2010.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is the fact that my mother died and left me in charge of my siblings, right now I do not have a house and a sustainable source of income so taking care of my siblings is very difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I have managed to survive and managed to get up when I am well.