GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Walter's Profile
Walter's family
Walter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($478 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I boosted my third transfer with my second transfer and used it to build my house because I was staying in a thatched roofed house which was seriously leaking and the walls had started cracking.I also bought house hold items.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second transfer on buying 47 pieces of iron sheets 28,200KES,timbers 18,600KES and nails 3,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have built a three roomed house that fits my family and I.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to pay secondary school fees for my 2 children KES 9500 and bought food KES 480.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house and pay school fees with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked as motorcycle taxi driver for many years and after diligently saving my earnings for a while I have been able to enroll my two sons in secondary schools.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself. I need to pay school fees for my children who are in secondary schools and if I am unable to raise the required fees they may drop out of school. I also need to build a better house for my family but this has been quite difficult because I lack enough money for the materials needed.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am having my lunch. Whenever I am eating with members of my family I always feel very happy.