GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jenipher's Profile
Jenipher's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the second tranfers to buy steel windows, door frames, cement and sand to repair and extended my house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am planning to buy a water tank and build a pit latrine as my new goals.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am now staying in cemented nice and spacious house that is free from dust.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying steel doors ksh 7000, 14 bags of cement ksh 18000,steel door ksh 7000, sand ksh 6000 and one cow ksh 10000 (to pay for my late son's wife dowry )
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in y life is that now my children are in school and my daughter in law's dowry is paid.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying 7,000KES, for my children school fees. I used 3,000KES for buying food for my family daily consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying a cows to pay dowry to my late son’s wife. This will help me keep custody of my grandchildren. I am also planning to build a water tank to safely keep water. I have nothing to help me hold water in my house. I will also repair my house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy household furniture and plaster my house
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am able to plant and depend on myself
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is having to fend for my grand children who are orphans,yet I have no source of income
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part is when my grand children find something to eat when they are from school.