GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Phoebe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($478 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
My husband passed away almost immediately after I received the third transfers,so I spent most of it on the funeral services and clearing the hospital bills.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 45000 KES of the first lumpsum on building a bigger house and bought a mattress at 4500KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have a bigger house compared to the squeezed house I had before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees 3000 KES, school uniform 700 KES , books 700 KES , 1 sack of maize 1200 KES and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on building my own house .
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a bigger house because my house is small, build a kitchen that can be used as a bedroom for my children and buy a dairy cow for financial security and milk. I also plan to pay dowry.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am a dedicated wife and mother to my children. I work very hard to help with the financial needs of my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack a proper source of income and I have a large family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am at work tilling my shamba because it's where I get food to feed my family.