GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 28000 KES of my first lumpsusm transfer on secondary school fees for my son, 18000 KES on a heifer, 3500 KES on a table and the remaining 500 KES on primary school fees for my daughter
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that GD has increased my worth in terms of property ownership. I am currently owning a cow and good furniture things that I couldn't afford before.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought utensils , l also bought poles for building.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to expand my house , plaster my house, buy seats and pay school fees.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house, I plan to build a toilet, I also plan to pay school fees for my children and to use part of it in paying for my hospital bills.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am a farmer and I have managed to till my land and at times I get a good harvest.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I don't have a stable source of income so getting finances that I can use to buy our basic needs like food and clothes is a big problem.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it so that I may be able to get food that I can feed my family.