GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of the first lumpsum in plastering my house and used 10000 KES in boosting my business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I have graduated from mud house to a cemented house so we are relieved from dust.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a goat at 3000 KES, a mattress at 4000 KES and spent the remaining part of my token payment on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will cement my main house and spend the remaining portion of my upcoming lumpsum payment on college school fees for my son.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I would like to buy some household items like mattresses,bedsheets,blankets and some utensils since I don't have them. I would also like to plaster my floor inorder to prevent dust-born diseases. Lastly, I would like to buy some goats because they reproduce faster than cows.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of was owning a water tank because it is my main source of drinking water.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say my biggest hardship has been lack of enough farm equipments that can enable me cultivate my farm properly inorder to produce sufficient farm produce that is enough to feed my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening because that is the time when I'm able to relax with my children as they share with me how their day has been.