GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Sarah's Profile
Sarah's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Sarah's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 30,000 KES school fee for my sister-in-law in high school, bought five sheep at 10,000 KES, used 8,000 KES to erect a pit latrine, then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and paid a debt of 2,000 KES which we had to take my mother-in-law to hospital.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My home is now more hygienic than before because we have a decent pit latrine.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to pay my daughter in high school fee. I also used the rest in farming activities.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because the current one is small. I'm also planning to cement both walls and floor of my house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to pay school fees for our siblings.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that we have a home of our own and a family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is paying school fees for our siblings since we have no proper jobs and our parents are not there to help them.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of our day is when we are together as a family.