GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Rujina's Profile
Rujina's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rujina's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy sand (7500), cement (12000), mattress (3500), paid fee for my grandchildren (25000) and sought treatment.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have bought materials to plaster my house and helped pay school fees for my grandchildren.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a blanket and treating my eye.I am currently plastering my house and planning to pay school fees for my granddaughter who is to join secondary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying a cow and buy food for my household.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer to give my daughter in law to start a business because she is the one who supports me. I also plan to use part of it to go for an eye check up. I also plan to build a house and pay school fees for my grandchild who is orphan.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I managed to raise my children but unfortunately they are all dead.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is that I have become partially blind and this has affected my health.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I eat together with my grandchildren.