GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zablon's Profile
Zablon's family
Zablon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought two cows for 26000 KES, spent 10000 KES to pay dowry, bought iron sheets 7000 KES and spent 4000 KES to build a house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of furnishing my house and and buying cattle for keeping.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now feel free and relaxed after paying dowry which was like a debt to me.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on (since i have two wives i had not paid dowry) paying for the first wife dowry ksh 26000, ksh 15000(spent on giving my in laws ) and i bought 15 iron sheets ksh 12000.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen i my life is that i was able to pay my wife's dowry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying school fees for my children.I also bought a sheep and maize for my family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to pay dowry for my wife.I also plan to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,we are planning to buy some cows that will aid in farming because this is the only source of income we have.We are also planning to build some rental houses at the center so that we can rent them out in order to get some income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Looking back,I would say that the achievement I am proudest of is owning a piece of land where we can build some rental houses that we can rent out in order to generate some income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our biggest hardship is lack of safe drinking water since our home is very far from the main source of water.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening while relaxing with my wife and children and having a meal together.