chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Naomi's Profile
Naomi's family
Naomi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 17 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different from how it was in that, I rested from doing casual jobs that I used to fully depend upon on to make ends meet. Atleast for once I got a humble time to concentrate on my farm. As result of that my farm produce are really doing well and hopefully I am expecting a bumper harvest. Besides , I managed to meet my other goal which was to construct a decent house for my family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
What I love about this organization is that they gave us unconditional cash transfer which went a long way in uplifting our living starndards not only as a family but also as a community. Nothing went wrong.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent part of my transfer on purchasing a dairy cow worth KES 32,000. Before then, I would buy milk with my own money which was expensive since I had to part with KES 900 every month.However, I am glad that soon I will be milking my own cow hence saving the amount I would have used for buying the said commodity . Additionally, I constructed a kitchen, for I had converted an old house into a kitchen which was in a sorry state. Finnally I intend to buy seats with the remaining amount of money.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($547 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the newly built house that I never thought I would build anytime soon. We had the desire of building a new and better house for our family but the little income that we received from GiveDirectly was hardly enough to enable us build this house.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt so happy the moment I received money from GiveDirectly. I received the money at around 6:43 am in morning that day. I could not contain the kind of happiness that I felt on receiving this money. I found myself laughing so much due tothis. I could not believe my eyes that I had actually received money from GiveDirectly. I later on informed my husband who was not at home at that time that we had indeed received money from GiveDirectly and he was equally happy. We immediately got down to work since we already had plans on how to use the money.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used most of my recent transfer to build a new house. I had one house that was too small for my family and I. The house was not only small but also grass thatched. We had the desire to build a new and better house but the little income that we received from our odd menial jobs was only enough to provide food for the family. We looked forward to building one once we got some money in lump sum. When we received money from GiveDirectly we did not even give a second thought about it. We simply got down to work and we are proud that we are almost completing this house.We feel so much indebted to GiveDirectly for this timely support to us.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have always desired to build a bigger house for my family of seven but due to financial constraints, this has not been a reality for me. Receiving this money means that my prayers have been answered since I will use the first transfers to build a bigger house so that my children will no longer go to other people's houses to sleep.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because this is the time I am called to go and do casual labour in other people's farms.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My work currently entails doing casual labor such as weeding and digging in other people's farms so that I can get some finances (100 shillings daily) to cater for the needs of my family. My husband on the other hand is a watchman and also earns Shs.150 per day. This amounts are not able to sustain our basic needs and also cater for education. My biggest worry is that whenever my husband is at home, my children have to sleep with my neighbor's children. I am worried because I will have failed as a parent should this arrangement result in teenage pregnancy.