chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Bentar's Profile
Bentar's family
Bentar
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Bentar's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 33 iron sheets with the whole of my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was initially living in a smaller house where I could get it even hard to dress up or change my clothing since we were sharing the rooms with the rest of my family members and this could rob me my privacy, however when I got the transfers and built a house with more rooms, we have been able to live with privacy that each of us deserve in our household, the biggest difference in our daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying school fees.I also bought 2 goats at KES 7,000.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to buy a cow and buy maize for my family's consumption.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for two of my children who are in secondary school, I also plan to expand my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is this house which I built through a lot of struggle.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is the burden of school fees especially for this two children who are in secondary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evenings especially when my children had all meals that day.