GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought two bulls at 29,000 KES to help in ploughing, a solar lamp at 11,000 KES and paid school fees (secondary school) for 5,000 KES. The rest was spent on daily food expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since we bought the bulls, we have been able to increase farming activities and our harvest is going to improve.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two sacks of maize for family consumption. Paid 3,000 KES fee to my daughter in high school. I also purchased cooking utensils with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay school fee with a portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to buy some oxen for farming activities. This will ensure that I till my land in time and at least get adequate yield for family consumption and even sell the proceeds.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to pay school fees. We have three children in high school. We also plan to buy a ploughing machine for farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is this mabati roofed house which we built through savings from our small businesses. Previously we lived in a dilapidated grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face is the burden of school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go the farm after doing household chores.