chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to buy two cows (24000), chairs (8000), a steel door(7000) and paid school fees (10000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Support from GD has enabled my son to retrieve his secondary school certificate and can now proceed to college, I can now plough with ease since i got an ox and i am sure of getting more livestock when the cow i bought reproduces. I also have good seats. My life has become much easier with less worries.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay my son in high school fee. I also purchased other household items with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement my floor because at the moment it is earth and demands frequent repairs. I'm also planning to build my son a house because he has none and sleep at the neighborhood.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My first priority is to spend a portion of my transfer on school fees,books and uniform. I would like to spend the remaining amount to plaster my house inorder to prevent dust-born diseases.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of was being able to send my son to school and right now he has completed secondary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to raise my children single handedly because I have a huge responsibility of ensuring that I provide food as well as raising their school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during lunch hour when I have enough food that we can share with my children.