chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
63
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 7000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on a steel door, 9000 KES on 3 steel windows, 20000 KES on 30 iron sheets, 9000 KES on timbers and I paid labor deposit with the remaining 5000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a big difference in my daily life since I have been eating well; I have been taking a balance diet since I started receiving these transfers which has given me a total piece of mind and healthy life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES of my token payment on 8 cushions, 5000 KES on food and clothing and paid my medical bills using 1000 KES of the transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am currently living in a small house and therefore I will construct a bigger one when I get my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles and nails which will be used to build a new house for my family. I will also use part of the transfers to pay workers who will build the house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having reached the age of 63, I do not have a lot of money but the little that I get from selling sisal ropes has sustained me till this age.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is ill health, I have a chest condition and my joints always ache, I am afraid that very soon I will not be able to walk or even go to the market to sell my ropes.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening, this is because in our area we usually have only one meal a day and it is at night, so evenings are the happiest part of my day.