GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Florence's Profile
Florence's family
Florence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florence's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 1,400 KES tithe, 17,000 KES school fee for my deceased co-wife's child, bought four sacks of maize at 10,400 KES, one sofaset at 17,000 KES and two sheep at 4,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My maize business is now doing well because am able to make good income out of it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on 10%Tithe to my Church for 1,000 KES, secondary school fee for 6,000 KES, dry maize and assorted food for 3,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on our child’s University fee (he does not have an Identity Card and cannot apply for Higher Education Loan for now.)
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy a piece of land because we have a very small piece of land. Secondly l would wish to do paultry farming to generate income to support my family. Lastly I would like to to buy oxen to enable us do better farming to increase productivity.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to educate our children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the of the day is in the morning when working in my farm.