GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Desma's Profile
Desma's family
Desma
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($469 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I intend to start a salon business which will be a daily source of income. I also intend to buy an additional dairy cow in order to increase in milk production.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly does well to give money directly to individuals. This is because it enabled me to access things which wouldn't be possible before. For example, I have been able to build a kitchen and blow dryer which I couldn't afford before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer on three sheep because they grow and multiply fast and can be sold for a dairy cow. I also bought a blow dryer for my salon business and the rest on sofa sets because I didn't have seats in my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
Upon receiving the message bearing the good news of the transfer receipt, I felt relieved as I had been worried about the increasing debts both at the hospital and in the shop that I had been obtaining household goods on credit. I was filled with joy as I was sure to clear them all and be at peace with the owners as they had been of great help when I had no money to pay them. At that moment, my child was not feeling well too and I needed to visit the same clinic. I thanked God for the timely support that I had been praying for.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is seeing my dream of owning a cow that will soon be producing enough milk for my household come true. I had been praying for this for a long time and it felt good when my husband agreed to the suggestion of obtaining one. I am hoping to soon stop spending on milk and divert the amount to other household bills.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With the current high cost of living, buying milk from the neighborhood alongside other household needs had been so expensive. It has been my prayer that I will be able to also own a cow one day so that I could cut the cost of buying milk. On receiving the transfer, I was glad to come into agreement with my husband to spend KES24000 on obtaining a heifer. Even though it is not giving us milk yet, I am happy that I am hoping to soon produce some milk when it calved down. We also extended our investment in livestock by buying a sheep at KES4000 as we needed to save on an asset that will help us in the future when raising school fees for our children. We also needed a different kitchen after using a single house that served the dual purpose of a kitchen and a living room. It was always full of smoke since firewood is the main source of fuel in our household. I managed to obtain 12 iron sheets each at KES890. The construction is currently on, and hopeful to transfer all the kitchenware to the new construction as soon as it is complete. With the remaining amount, I managed to settle a debt of KES4000 in the nearby shop, paid for some building poles that I will soon be ferrying home to help in the construction work, and also settle the medical bill I had in the immediate clinic as I needed more medication both for my child and me. I am grateful for all that has transpired since I received the transfer and hoping to even do more when I finally receive the remaining transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have wanted to buy a dairy cow since I moved here a year ago. Currently, I don't own one, therefore I purchase milk costing me KES 1400 per month. My husband and I depend on casual jobs including selling construction sand to earn a living. The money we get is not enough to meet our family's needs like food because we also have one child in school and we have to pay for school fee for him. Receiving this money means I'll be able to own an asset that can help me in future.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning. At this time I still feel energetic to go about my day's activities. I'm hopeful at this time too that I will do something that might give me some money for the food that day. My days start at 6, I prepare my child for school and embark on collecting sand for sale. Every morning is a sign of hope for me as it's another opportunity to earn a living.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship in my life has been when I got sick six years ago. I was diagnosed with intestinal problems which saw me admitted and went through an operation. My family used more KES 150000 to pay hospital bills. This was such a blow for us. Since then we are still trying to recover financially. With this money, I hope it will be a starting point for me so that I can recover what I lost in the process.