<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Charles's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
236756 KES ($2347 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I am an orphan and I have struggled to make ends meet due to my low income. I have been living in a very uncomfortable house but since I received this transfer, I bought building materials which give me an assurance that I will have a good house which I have been longing for.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I would want to start up a poutlry business which will help me meet my family financial needs.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I can now dress comfortably because of the clothes I bought out of this transfer, I have never gone without food unlike before when we would miss food occasionally and I am very happy that I will have a presentable house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Apart from my earlier planned goals, I would want to buy a second-hand motorcycle to help boost my income.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life, is being homeless since I did not have a house at home and I had to rent a house for three consecutive years despite the fact that I had unpredictable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day, is in the evening when I have completed all my daily activities, and I have managed to provide food for my family members.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on purchasing cows and goats which I shall raise and sell later to raise adequate cash that I shall use to build a descent semi permanent house. This will help me solve the problem of lack of a better shelter for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of in life, was building for grandfather a descent iron roofed house from my little savings from my fishing business. He nowadays lives comfortably with less worries, unlike before when he was living in a small grass thatched house.