GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Sidi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
workCampaign
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Sidi's next check-in.
 
26th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 17 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I currently have two goats. My goal is to increase their numbers so I can eventually sell or exchange them for bulls. These bulls will play a crucial role in helping me cultivate my land and generating income through hiring them out. In addition to raising goats, I currently sell chickens to support my family. With the income from my work and the monthly transfers I receive from GiveDirectly, I will be able to purchase more goats, which I can later exchange. I believe my family's future will be brighter and we will live a more comfortable life than we do now.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
As a mother of five children, with four currently attending school, I face numerous challenges and make sacrifices to ensure my children can continue their education. To prevent them from being sent home, I dedicated $54 towards their school fees to secure their places. With the remaining $48, I bought enough food to sustain my entire family for the month. Thanks to GiveDirectly for the support, it means a lot to me.
 
22nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($24 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Looking ahead, my goal is to start a vegetable business to supplement our income, given its profitability in our area. I also aim to obtain the necessary qualifications to resume teaching, restoring our previous stability. I will be using my upcoming transfers to achieve these goals. The profits from my business, along with my teaching salary and savings, will go towards securing my son's education, providing us with peace of mind. I am genuinely happy and grateful for this opportunity to change our lives for the better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My main source of income comes from buying and selling chickens, and fortunately, this business has been thriving. Meanwhile, my husband works as a tout in Mariakani, tirelessly supporting our family of eight. Our previous situation was incredibly challenging, as we struggled to afford school fees and even basic necessities like food. However, I am grateful that our circumstances have significantly improved. Now, I can comfortably cover my children's school fees, set aside savings, and even invest in goats to further enhance my business. Thanks to the transfers we received, I was able to purchase a goat worth $25 and allocate $9 towards buying essential household items. Additionally, I spent $34 on purchasing books and pens for my children as they were needed in school. The remaining $34 was used to settle a pending school fees for four of my children so that they would continue with their studies. I am genuinely happy to be a beneficiary of this program, as it has truly been a life-changing experience for me.
 
18th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I want to continue my livestock venture, particularly with goats. Currently, I have nine goats, one of which I acquired through the cash transfers. I aim to expand this herd. In a few years, when the transfers end, these animals will be crucial in supporting my children's needs. Selling some of them as they reproduce will help cover tuition and contribute to putting food on our table, ensuring a sustainable future for my family.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I mostly use the cash transfers for my children's tuition. Their school had outstanding debts that could have jeopardized their education, and since their father, who operates a motorcycle taxi, was struggling to settle these debts, I spent $31 on tuition fees. I am happy that one of them got to sit for their final primary school examinations without school fee struggles. Also, three of the kids had worn-out uniforms that could not be repaired anymore, so I used $18 to get them new ones. Additionally, I invested $25 in buying a goat and $8 in two chickens for future breeding. The plan is to let these animals reproduce, grow the herd, and sell the offspring to meet the children's needs. Finally, with the onset of the short rain season, $10 went into plowing the land for planting, and the rest covered our food expenses.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
On my farm, I have recently cultivated maize, beans, and various vegetables. I have high hopes that by the end of August, I will have an abundant supply of food. This surplus will enable me to allocate my monthly stipend towards profitable investments. One of my primary investment plans involves acquiring livestock, specifically goats. Goats are known for their rapid reproduction, which makes them an excellent choice for investment. Their quick multiplication will yield substantial returns in a relatively short span of time. Additionally, in case of any unforeseen emergencies, I have the option to sell some goats and utilize the proceeds to support myself financially.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
In June, a significant portion of my monthly funds went towards purchasing food. Instead of buying expensive maize flour from the shops, I opted to buy a bucket full of maize for $24. This quantity of maize was sufficient to feed my family for nearly two weeks, which was advantageous. Additionally, I used part of the funds to settle the outstanding school fees for my four children enrolled at Mutulu Primary School. I am relieved and content knowing that they no longer have any outstanding balances, ensuring their uninterrupted education. I am extremely grateful for the financial support provided by Give Directly, as I face various financial challenges. I operate a small business selling hens in the market, earning an average of $1 per hen. On a good day, I am able to sell a maximum of seven hens, totaling $7 in earnings. Unfortunately, this amount is insufficient to cover the numerous expenses I have, such as purchasing food, paying school fees, and providing medication for my five children. My husband is facing difficulties in finding employment, and months pass without him securing any jobs. Consequently, I am responsible for addressing all our needs, and with the help of financial assistance, I can manage most of them.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the hopes that they might be useful later on while experiencing financial difficulties, I was planning to invest in buying a few farm animals this year by purchasing a few goats and chickens. In addition, I want to use the money to pay for my four children's college tuition as we often rely on my husband's meager earnings from side jobs. I'm hoping that this money will enable me to support myself when my husband is unable to. It's also important to consider nutrition, particularly in light of the drought we're currently facing and the subsequent poor harvest.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was in the evening and I just finished doing laundry; I asked my son to check my phone, and he was so surprised to confirm that, I received some money from GiveDirectly. I was pleased to share the information with my husband that evening and planned the food items I was going to buy the next day.  
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is providing food for my family. The current earnings that we both have with my husband have been a stretch to have enough food for my family and meet other basic needs. My plan is to use the funds to buy enough food for the family and support my husband in paying off the school fees. My other goal is to buy bedding because the ones we have are old and worn out.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I was completely ecstatic when I realized the transfers had arrived. My top focus was to make sure I looked at nutrition because there wasn't much food in the house at the time. I then spent KES 1,400 to buy three kilograms of beans and nine packets of maize flour. Then I went ahead and used the KES 2,000 that was still in my account to buy five hens that I would eventually sell for a small profit.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Working as a bus conductor, my husband brings home 200 KES per day. We are a family of seven with a projected daily expenditure of 300 KES. With the minimal cash given, I found myself with a number of debts. It is with this course that I will spend my first two transfers to offset debts at the local kiosk. Currently I have fee arrears of 1800 KES which I am required to clear once school opens. In addition, 800 KES is needed every month for my four children in primary school.With the GiveDirectly transfers, I am seeing myself living a stress free life without loans.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I took a loan of 3000KES from table banking. This was after considering the peanuts income my husband receives from his tout job couldnot cater for all basic needs. I ventured into a small business of selling food during market days in the local trading center. Since I started the business about a month ago, I have joyful contributed towards the family basic needs and the frequency of sleeping with empty stomachs is greatly reduced.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have five children. The firstborn finished his primary education an year ago and because we did not have money, he did not join secondary school. He was taken to town to work as a gardener. The second born is moving to her last year and she will be sitting for her final national examinations in the course of the year. Looking at the financial trends, am seeing no future for the child's education. My daughter is a top performer in class and the idea of her not joining secondary school gives me sleepless nights.