chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
50
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($472 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that, I have been in position to continue with the construction of my permanent house. This transfer helped me to build my house from the window level to the roofing level and I plan to roof it with the second transfer. Previously, I had started constructing my house but it stopped at the window level because I didn't have enough money to proceed with the construction. Being a single mother, I had to prioritized my children's education.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
My daughter informed me that I had received money at around 8:00 am. I became very happy because I had got money to acquire building materials and to pay construction workers.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to purchase 28 bags of cement, 2 trips of sand and paid construction workers. I also paid my daughter's school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I can complete the construction of my permanent house. I had started but couldn't complete it due to lack of enough money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is poverty. Being a single parent, it hasn't been easy for me to provide the family needs like medical, school fees among others for lack of a reliable source of income. I rely on only agriculture for both food and income.