chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a fishing boat at 30,000 KES, paid 10,000 KES school fee for my daughter in a primary school, bought a sack and half of maize at 5,000 KES, clothing at 3,000 KES for the family then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer going without food at times because I now have a boat that helps me to get some income to fend for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I built and started a general kiosk using the whole of my token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will boost my stock in my general kiosk or shop then extend and renovate my main house with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to invest in real estate, build some semi permanent houses, and also to open a shop within the village.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that my children are getting an education. My husband is sick and so incapacitated. I operate as a single mother. I try my best to make ends meet.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is that I have a loan that is due payment and also the burden of school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up to go and hustle.