chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamella's Profile
Pamella's family
Pamella
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Recipient din't spend the money,it was stolen by her son.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a good house now.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the money to extend my house so l bought 20 iron-sheet at 12300 kshs, l also bought timber at 4600 ksks, poles at 8500 kshs, 4 bag of cement at 2920 kshs, also use 2000 to pay school fees for my child the rest of the a mount l spend in buy food stuff.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l now have a more spacious house that accommodate me with my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought my kids school uniforms and home clothes, paid loan of KES 5000. I also bought myself some clothes.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like to build a new house, buy a cow for ploughing and build a latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a bigger house with three spacious habitable rooms where my children can have their own bedroom. I am also planning to buy an ox-plough and a cow. I am planning to use the remaining amount to cement the whole of my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is being a dedicated mother to my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of resources to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my family gather for a good meal.