chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 20,000 KES, poles at 10,000 KES and paid for labour at 4,000 KES to finish constructing my house. I also paid school fees for 4,000 KES and the rest was spent on buying food stuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in a very small house that could not contain all my belongings and some used to be left outside with the risk of getting stolen, but now am in a bigger house that can comfortably contain my family and our belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees and paid 2,000KES debt, and spent 1,000KES on buying clothes for the children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to build a bigger house because my house is small. I also plan to use part of my transfer on my children's secondary education.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to keep my children in school by joining savings and loaning groups that help me pay their school fee.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in life is lack of sufficient finances to cater for all my needs. I am currently living in a very small house because the money I earn is only enough for food and school fee.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I can look back and count my blessings of the day.