GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
Paid 30,000 KES school fee for my child, I bought 15 bags of cement at 11,250 KES, one lorry of sand at 6,000 KES then added some amount to the remaining cash and paid 3,000 KES labor charge.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now feeling that am in the class who have because I now have a decent house and my child has attended a college.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build a toilet.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to plaster my house . l also plan to pay school fee.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer to build a toilet for my household. I also plan to buy household items like beddings, utensils and sideboard. I also plan to buy two cows that will provide me with milk. I will spend the remaining balance on food stuff.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to raise my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is lack of money to pay school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get food for my family.