GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Silas's Profile
Silas's family
Silas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
34
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different than it was four months ago in that I have a constant source of income courtesy of GiveDirectly. Prior to being enrolled in GiveDirectly's program, I had lost my job and life became very hard and unbearable to the point that I almost lost hope in life. However, the coming of GiveDirectly in my village turned around the situation since I was able to receive the transfers which I used to buy a second-hand motorcycle. Nowadays, I use my motorcycle for taxi thus I am able to fend for my family with ease. From the transfers, I have also started a poultry farm which is doing equally doing well.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
In the next four months, my new goal in life is to farm cowpeas which I hope with adequate rainfall will do pretty well. I shall then sell my cowpeas harvest to raise college fee for my wife who is currently enrolled in Teache's Training College. When she completes her coursework, she will be able to get a teaching job thus my household's income will greatly increase. This will make us succeed as a family. Secondly, I shall use part of the cash obtained from the sale of cowpeas to buy oxen which I shall use to plough my pieces of land in the subsequent planting seasons.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
In the last four months preceding the current transfer, the biggest difference in my life is owning a motorcycle. I currently use my motorcycle to do a motorcycle taxi from which I can often raise money which is sufficient for my household. Prior to being enrolled in GiveDirectly's project, I lost a job and became jobless thus I did not have any source of income. This made life hard and unbearable to my family. I thank God that presently, I am in a position to support my family comfortably courtesy of the financial support from GiveDirectly.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, my expectation is to establish my own home. This will bring a big change in my life in that I shall be able to carry on some of the development projects within my compound. Currently, I live in my father's compound and he has been very rigid in terms of other projects I have been thinking are very viable. For instance, when I wanted to start a project of keeping pigs sometime back, he persuaded me to drop that project because he does not like pigs. Having my own home will give me an opportunity to focus on such projects and be able to make positive progress in life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($254 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life, is the difficulty of securing a long term job that can help me implement my development plan. I have always been contracted on short term jobs which makes it challenging to plan for my long term goals.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day, is in the evening when I have accomplished all my daily planned activities and I receive the wages for my labour. From my wages, I can be able to meet the needs of my family members.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer to buy oxen since I have an oxen driven ploughing machine. This will enhance my farming activities thus translating to more food crop production for my growing family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of in my life, is having worked as West Sakwa Ward manager, during which I accorded more support to the needy students to access bursary. I also played a critical role in the construction of Agwara-Riwa murrum road which links Agwara to Riwa village, an act that has earned me more respect among my peers.