GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Dama's Profile
Dama's family
Dama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
61
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dama's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Owning the pair of oxen is the biggest difference in my daily life because initially, I could spend a lot of money on hiring from neighbours during planting season. Getting my own pair will relieve me the expenses of hiring and instead I will hire to them at a fee thus getting an income. I am also assured of cultivating a bigger piece of land and this will increase my production thus my family will have enough food to last us for a longer period. I am grateful for the financial support.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I saw the notification early in the morning as I was already up for the day's activities. On checking to confirm, it was from GiveDirectly indicating that I had received my first transfer from them. I was greatly overjoyed as I was going through the message.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of the first transfer to purchase a bicycle so as to help me in fetching water because our region is currently faced by water shortage and we are forced to travel for many kilometres in search of water from pans. The bicycle is currently of great importance to me for its a good means of fetching water over long distances. It can carry many gallons in large capacity with minimum effort as compared to carrying on my own. I also cleared school fees that were outstanding for my children to comfortably stay in school. In addition to this, I purchased a pair of oxen that will help me as I do my farming . I was previously cultivating a small piece of land because hiring to me was a challenge for I could not meet the cost. Getting my own pair will enable me to cultivate a bigger piece of land and get enough food to feed my family. I will also be hiring to my neighbours during the planting season and earn an income. I spent the rest of the money to buy food and new school uniforms for my children because their uniforms were worn out.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means i will be able to adequately provide basic needs such as food and education for my children through investing in livestock trading which is one of the thriving economic activities in Bamba location. I will put my eldest son in charge of the business since he has the necessary skills. I also plan to open a shop within my village to multiply income for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I do most of my chores in the morning, which includes washing clothes, fetching water, picking firewood and preparing my children for school. However, in the afternoon, I rest, take a nap and also have time to visit my friends. This makes afternoon the best part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Inadequate finances continues to be a big challenge to my family. Since my husband died, I am forced to do casual labour such as washing clothes for people, fetching water and burning charcoal in order to provide food, clothing, medication and education for my children.