GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Margaret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
51
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 22 iron sheets at 14,300KES, six kilograms of nails at 1,350KES, two still doors at 6,000KES, one wooden door at 3,500KES, four water jerrycans at 1,000KES, two solar lamps at 4,700KES, used 5,500KES on labor, roofing poles 4,000KES, wall poles 10,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to host my visiting relatives and I enough water storage tanks.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I sunk and constructed a pit latrine in my compound.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to extend my house, buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to enlarge our house, complete building our toilet and buy two oxen to be used for ploughing.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement that I can think of is having successful engaged in trading livestock.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have is lack of a steady source of income that will enable us have proper meals. We sometimes eat only boiled vegetables. We also have a clever child who is due to join class eight but we do not have money for his school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is around midday. This is because during the day is when I sometimes get some money to eat.