<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dwiner's Profile
Dwiner's family
Dwiner
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dwiner's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 37300 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on 30 iron sheets, I dug a permanent latrine-16 feet with 6500 KES I spent 2100 KES on clothing for my household members and I sent the remaining 3825 KES to my daughter staying in Mombasa.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has poured sufficient peace in my household since a lot has changed; I am now having a latrine and we don't need to seek for both short and long calls in the bush, infested with huge and dangerous snakes. This is a big difference in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000 KES to pay a debt I had taken earlier to pay school fees and spent 3,000 KES to buy dry maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a new house as the old one has a leaking roof and dilapidated walls and also to construct a pit latrine for use by the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to construct a pit latrine so as to prevent diarrheal diseases, build a new bigger house because my house is small and the roof leaks, and use the remaining amount on my children's school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have educated my child whom at the death of his father was only six years old. He is currently in college pursuing nursing.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is lack of money to educate my children. Even though I struggle, at times I fail to raise school fee and my children feel very bad when sent back from school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is at noon when my children come back home from school and we are happy eating food that God provides us.