GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy the following; 8 pieces of roofing iron sheet for 5000 KES, timber for building 3000 KES, nails for 1500 KES, 2 steel window for 5000 KES, a steel door for 5000 KES and i also paid labor charge for 4000 KES. I again bought 7 seater chair for 9000 KES and 90 kg corn for 3000 KES. I also spent 6000 KES to boost my fish business. The remaining 5500 KES i spent on daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the better house i have and the business which provides income for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy 8 iron sheets KES 5200, a mattress KES 3000 and food KES 1600.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to move to my own compound and organize for my dowry payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to build a bigger house that can comfortably fit our large family, pay dowry so as to legalise our marriage and purchase new household furniture because the ones we have currently are very old.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have struggled to feed our children by doing fishing and farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face in life is that our income is little and therefore not sufficient for the family's financial needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when my family members wake up healthy.