GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Unice's Profile
Unice's family
Unice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Unice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy timber for 15000 KES, 12000 KES i spent on labor charge, 6000 KES i spent to buy water,7500 KES i spent to buy steel door, 2000 KES i spent to pay school fee for my children and the remaining 7000 KES i spent on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the better house i live in now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought mattress for 4500 KES, paid school fees 3000 KES, uniforms 1000 KES and shoes for 700 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house and start a business with the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the cash to cement my house to avoid frequent repair. Secondly l would wish to use some of the money to build a pit latrine for my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled after the death of my husband and built a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after work for people and getting some money to buy food for my family.