GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on making a boat. This has enabled me sustain my family.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to build another house as the previous house was an old dilapidated single roomed house which couldn't fit all my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the new semi permanent house that I build with the transfer. I also live peacefully as I've bought most of the furniture and utensils hence I don't need to borrow from neighbors their their utensils or furniture when I have visitors. Thanks a lot to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I am very happy for the first transfer, we used our first transfer on buying a new mattress worth 4500 KES then my husband being a carpenter bought materials and built new seats for our house and that cost us 4000 KES we used the remaining 1000 KES for food
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would really wish to build a new house so I am planning to use the next transfer on building and also pay school fee for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to plaster my house to avoid frequent maintance. Secondly l would wish to buy household items for my house to avoid borrowing from neighbors. l would also like to use the rest of the money to buy livestock for future use. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my children who are in school and has fees problem.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we used to stay in a grass thatched house but through struggling we have managed to build iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of land to do farming.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when all my family members are in good health.