GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Helena's Profile
Helena's family
Helena
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
71
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Helena's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy a water tank (40000), gutters (6000) and food (3000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had to fetch water from the lake but now i have access to clean water from my water tank.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a steel door at 7000 KES using my token payment and food with the remaining 3000 KES of the transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a 3000 L water tank using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a better house because this one is already old and worn out.I am also planning to buy a water tank that will harvest rain water so that I don't get stressed up due to water scarcity.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,being able to take care of my children and educate them despite being a single parent is the achievement I am proudest of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am currently facing is lack of finances to buy essential commodities that can keep me going with my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is always in the evening when I get to the market with my fish and I'm able to sell all of it inorder to make money that can enable me buy other items that I lack.