chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Siprosa's Profile
Siprosa's family
Siprosa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
85
homeHousehold Size:
1
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 40000 KES to extend and cement my house, bought a cloth for 2000 KES and spent some on food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of buying a water tank.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now a sleep comfortably in a good bed and mattress which I never had before. I am living in a permanent house from a mud and dusty house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent transfer to build a comfortable house so l bought 30 ironsheets at 19500 kshs, l bought poles at 10000 kshs, nails at 5000 kshs, l also spent 10000 kshs to pay for labor the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l had very poor condition house but now because of GD l have a very comfortable house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
7,000KES on buying a bed and a matress, and spent 3,000KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Extend the house, buy livestock and feed myself
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Educating my children
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Sickness
What is the happiest part of your day?
Taking my meals of the day