chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid secondary and college school fees for my children with the whole of my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a high blood pressure before I started to receive transfers from GD- an ailment caused by excess stress. The high blood pressure was wholly caused by the heavy school fees burden I had, which GD liberated me from, however when I went to the hospital for the subsequent check up, I found that it has healed the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to pay my daughter in high school fee.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my son in collage fee. I'm also planning to pay fee to my daughter in secondary chool fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is in secondary school and the rest who are in primary school including five orphans belonging to my brother-in-law who I take care. The total transfer will only be spent in clearing school fees for the children as I have huge debts in terms of college fee,primary and secondary school fees that I hope to settle with the cash.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a piece of land and managed to build my house on it using cash that I got from my fish business and the savings that I had in our local lending and saving scheme.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting food to eat and school fees for my children is a problem as my income is very low and I have children who are all going to school and I have a huge school fee debt of Ksh. 70,000 for college and Kshs. 80,000 for my two kids in secondary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the lake in the morning to wait for the arrival of fishermen who bring fish with their boats so that we can buy and sell to our customers. This makes me happy as I am able to sell fish and provide food for my family.