GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
Ruth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Searching for work
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($485 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was before Give Directly came into my life. I am now able to comfortably pay school fees for my sibling. They used to be sent home more often because of this. It reached a point they were almost giving up on continuing with their studies. I am glad that I was able to restore their faith and they are now studying peacefully. Apart from that, I also bought a house. I will no longer pay rent. I can't explain the peace of mind I have achieved after buying this house. No one will understand what the house means to me. I just have to thank this organization and continue praying for them.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start a business. I am a housewife and I depend on my husband for everything. I know that when I achieve this goal I will become independent. I usually feel like am a bother. At times, it is even embarrassing to ask for the cheapest household items. I am grateful to this organization for empowering me financially and making me know that my dream is valid I only need to look for money to actualize it.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had bought a house although I had a balance to clear. I did not have enough money to pay the whole amount at once. When I received the third transfer, I decided to pay the remaining amount. I used to pay rent but I later found out that it was cheaper to buy a house. It was a bit of a hustle considering that I didn't have a stable job. Circumstances would force me not to pay rent and we would be locked out for months. I am very happy because I have my own house. I now have peace of mind. My husband doesn't have a stable job also and I would get stressed because I didn't know how we would complete paying the remaining amount. I thank GiveDirectly because they have restored me. I was almost thinking of going upcountry because life in the city without a job was difficult.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I now own a house something I did not have before receiving my transfers. My husband used to struggle to pay rent and at times it could accumulate for many months since he did not have a constant source of income and this has always been disturbing me. I am now happy since we no longer pay rent as we used our transfers to buy a house for our family. My husband can now save the money he could have used to pay rent and used it to cater for other family basic needs.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goals that I did not have before receiving the transfer is that I am planning to start a poultry project in my rural home. This project will be a good source of income to my family from the sale of eggs. This will therefore boost my daily income hence I will be able to provide the basic needs such as food for my family without any challenge. I am also planning to start a new business in Mathare where I sell cereals. Currently I do not have any source of income and starting this business will bring in more income and I will be able to help my husband provide some of the household needs. I will save part of the income I get from my businesses in table banking so as to use it to pay school fees for my daughter in future.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spend my most recent transfer to buy a house in Mathare. We used my transfers with that of my husband to buy the house. He has been struggling to pay rent with the little money he got from casual work. At times he could not get any job to do and it will be a challenge to pay rent and meet other family needs such as food since I did not have any source of income. Thank you Give Directly for the support since I no longer pay rent and we could save the money we could have otherwise used to pay rent and use to provide other family needs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My plan is to use my next transfer to expand my business by adding more stock and renting a premise where I will be selling the items. The rest of the money will be used to pay school fees for my niece in high school. Her mother is jobless which has always made it a struggle to pay the school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was a housewife before the money came which meant I totally depended on my husband who also relies on casual jobs. Life was quite hard because his income was not enough to take care of our needs, most of the time we would be locked out of our rental house due to delayed payments. Now that I have my own business, I can support my family with the profits that I make and I am happy that I can even help with the family responsibilities including rent payments. It is such a great feeling to be useful.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I Sent some of the money to my parents back at home for their blessings so that I would not squander the money. I also took some of it to church as tithe in order to thank God for bringing such a miracle my way and getting me out of poverty through GD. I used some of it to pay rent and purchase foodstuff then invested the rest of in cloth business for my own income since I did not have any source of income before.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
Being a housewife,I have never handled such an amount. Knowing that I had just received 20000KES was so exciting that I could not sleep fro the rest of the night after reading the text message which came just before dawn.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I would want to open a new business of selling new clothes for both children and grown ups. My sister has five children and paying their school fees has been a big problem, I would want to assist so as to ease her situation. Where we live ,we encounter rent challenges due to this I would want to give a hand by helping my husband by paying the rent.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is housing because if I don't have a place to sleep it's next to impossible to live. Shelter is a basic need to every human being and as to me it's not only basic but also very embarrassing to lack a house nor locked out due to rent. I have encountered this for some time back and now I have a family, I wouldn't want that to happen again.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to have a big business of selling clothes for children and grown ups within my location whereby I can create employment to the community as well my family. I would want my child to have a secured education whereby she wouldn't worry about school fees or other necessities.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I always stay at home doing my house chores and taking care of my family since I have one child. I sometimes watch television and go to visit my friends who live close by just to share and exchange ideas. During that free time, I go for our group meetings since that's the best time I usually have.