chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
67
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($529 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
If I could not have received the transfer I could not have managed to invest in a lager scale farming as i did by hiring tractor to till my land using give directly's money, I could have just in used my own hand and till a very small portion. But now I am very happy I have managed to invest in a larger scale farming and sure of getting enough produce.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
My opinion give directly did very well by giving less fortune support and not having people who are a better off. They also did very well by registering most of the women in the households being that the man could have misused the money and this was right choice.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent most of the transfer to buy hire tractor to cultivating my farm. I thought of hiring a tractor because I have been having difficult time when it comes to plough season because I had to use my own hand to till my land. This was very hectic and tiresome since the land is too big that I could not managed to till the whole of it. I was tilling very small peace of land and this was leading to low yield that could not sustain my family i am very happy because I managed to hire tractor and planted a very big land where i will get enough produce that will sustain me with my family. I also spent the transfer to buy cow as my long term investment since it mature it will reproduced and I will get milk out of it for my consumption and even sell to the community and get money for my family up keep. The remaining balance I spent to buy food for my family consumption and also very decent clothes from my children being that they did not have any decent cloth to put on when going for a faction or a visit.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($547 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that currently, my home is well lighted up thanks to the solar panel that I was able to install thanks to GD's transfers. This has rescued me from the hustle of using pressure lamps.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer I was very happy for I knew I was going to meet my needs. I have always wished to have sofas and light in my house
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my first transfer, I bought a calf to rear for I had always desired to own one. In the future, I will be abler to harvest milk from it. I bought sofas to have my living room beautified. Initially, I used to have plastic chairs which were not comfortable because they did not have cushions. The remaining amount I bought a solar panel system to help me light up my home. I was tired of using the pressure lamp.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to buy new bedding, I will buy chairs and buy solar that I will use to light the house. Since I do not have a reliable source of income, I find it very expensive to be buying kerosene every evening to light the house and I could not raise enough money to buy solar, this transfer is going to enable me achieve this milestone. It will also help my grandchildren because they will study using the solar light. For a long time I have slept on torn mattress with old blanket that I always felt ashamed when visited with my sisters, I will also be able to buy new mattress and blankets. I have lived with the embarrassment of having guests sitting on very old chairs in my house, I will be able to buy chairs. And to ensure I get continued supply of money, I will use the second transfer to buy cows that after a short time shall deliver and I will be able to milk them. Part of the milk will be used by the family while the rest we will sell to get money to by food for the family and save for fees of my grandchildren.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is usually in the afternoon because I break from the difficult task of looking for food for my children and rest. Most part of my morning I spend walking in the neighborhood looking for anyone who is offering farm jobs, once I get, I work diligently to meet the target and get paid. It is after receiving pay that I get home with food for my family feeling satisfied and fulfilled.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am faced with is that I do not have enough food for my family. We had poor harvest and right now I have to work hard and feed both my children and grandchildren. Sometimes I get very little food that I go without food and let them share the little I got for the day.