GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Perez's Profile
Perez's family
Perez
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my cash transfer in drilling a bore hole 25,000 KES, bought 2 sheep 5000 KES and saved 18,000 KES for buying a pump that I'll use to irrigate my farm.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to buy livestock and to educate my children.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have drilled a borehole, I no-longer walk long miles to go and fetch water.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
i bought a matress that cost me 4000,a wheelbarrow at 3600,i bought clothes at 1000 and 1400 i bought food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
my husband has never payed my dowry but the money sent i used to pay dowry. now atleast am respected at my home
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying clothes 5000 KES, mattress 4000 KES and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend the transfer on paying my dowry .
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying two cows that will be spent on paying my dowry, part of the transfer I will spend on buying a donkey that we will be using in fetching water and the remaining amount I will spend on buying five sheep that I can keep in my home for meat.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy two chicken with money I got from phone charging in my home using solar power and they have been laying eggs which I sell at the local market.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that our income is very low and this makes us not to be able to pay school fees for our children on time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and do household chores like sweeping the house and washing my children's clothes. This makes me happy as I am always happy to have a clean home.