GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Janet's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two cows for 30000 KES, school fees 4500,still saving 10000
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I now have cattle, I have paid school fees and able to buy food.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 2,000 KES to settle some debts. Paid 2,500 KES fee to my daughter in a special school. I also purchased other household items with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to invest the entire transfer in livestock farming.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on my daughter's primary education. She is blind and in special school with fee balance of kes 51,000. I also plan to venture into fish business so that I am able to feed and educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have an iron roofed house that I built using money accrued from selling fish. My spouse left me in a small grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in my life is lack of money to cater for my medical needs. I have a condition that requires surgery but I have not gone through with it because I lack money to pay.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up knowing that I have another opportunity to work for my children.